Accident Research

Accident research for better road safety

Research on road safety and the nature of accidents

Accident statistics have been displaying a pleasing trend over the last few years - less accident victims despite an increase in vehicle density. In order to ensure that this positive trend continues, accident research for the benefit of road safety is a key concern for DEKRA. DEKRA accident research, which deals with various road safety services and the analysis of the causes of real accidents, has existed since 1978.


DEKRA accident research activities are just as multifaceted as the nature of real accidents. Our work ranges from minor collisions to major pile-ups and from fire tests to crash barrier failures. Driving dynamics tests to establish the potential benefits of active safety systems and the reconstruction and analysis of a number of accident scenarios are carried out using theoretical approaches, accumulated knowledge and practical tests for the benefit of road safety.


Our services include:

  • Customer-specific analysis of real accidents
  • Assessments of the potential benefits of new safety systems
  • Analysis of driving dynamics tests
  • Compilation of training material
  • Execution of European research projects
  • Advisory role with the creation of new standards and laws
  • Support with the compilation of guidelines for accident rescue
  • Analysis of the safety of vehicles run on alternative fuels
  • Work on committees at national and international level

Our extensive databases and the possibility of accessing analytical expertise on accidents are the basis for the acquisition of important knowledge to provide options for improving safe mobility. Customers are the car industry and its suppliers, as well as public authorities and associations. In this way, DEKRA accident research makes a significant contribution to better road safety on our streets and all over Europe.

DEKRA Automobil GmbH
Handwerkstraße 15
70565 Stuttgart
Telefon +49.711.7861-2450
Telefax +49.711.7861-2784

Unfallforschung

Unfallforschung für ein Mehr an Verkehrssicherheit

Forschung rund um Verkehrssicherheit und Unfallgeschehen

Die Unfallstatistiken weisen seit Jahren einen erfreulichen Trend auf – weniger Unfallopfer trotz steigender Fahrzeugdichte. Damit dieser positive Trend anhält, ist die Unfallforschung zum Nutzen der Verkehrssicherheit ein zentrales Anliegen von DEKRA. Seit 1978 gibt es die DEKRA Unfallforschung, die sich mit zahlreichen Dienstleistungen rund um die Verkehrssicherheit und der Analyse des realen Unfallgeschehens befasst.

Genauso facettenreich wie das reale Unfallgeschehen ist auch die Tätigkeit der DEKRA Unfallforschung. Das Arbeitsfeld reicht von der Kleinkollision bis zur Massenkarambolage und vom Brandversuch bis zum Schutzplankendurchbruch. Fahrdynamikversuche zur Ermittlung des Nutzenpotenzials aktiver Sicherheitssysteme sowie die Rekonstruktion und Analyse einer Vielzahl von Unfallabläufen werden mit Hilfe von theoretischen Ansätzen, gesammeltem Wissen und praktischen Versuchen zum Nutzen der Verkehrssicherheit durchgeführt.

Zu unseren Dienstleistungen zählen:

  • Kundenspezifische Auswertungen des realen Unfallgeschehens
  • Nutzenpotenzialabschätzungen neuer Sicherheitssysteme
  • Analyse von Fahrdynamikversuchen
  • Erstellung von Schulungsunterlagen
  • Durchführung europäischer Forschungsprojekte
  • Beratende Funktion bei der Erstellung neuer Normen und Gesetze
  • Unterstützung bei der Erstellung von Leitfäden zur Unfallrettung
  • Analyse der Sicherheit alternativ angetriebener Fahrzeuge
  • Gremienarbeit auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene

Unsere umfangreichen Datenbanken sowie die Zugriffsmöglichkeit auf unfallanalytische Gutachten sind die Grundlage dafür, wichtige Erkenntnisse zur Generierung von Optimierungsansätzen für eine sichere Mobilität zu sammeln. Abnehmer sind die Fahrzeugindustrie und ihre Zulieferer genauso wie Behörden und Verbände. Auf diese Weise leistet die DEKRA Unfallforschung auf vielen Gebieten einen Beitrag für mehr Verkehrssicherheit auf den Straßen – und das Europaweit.

Ansprechpartner

KONTAKT
DEKRA Automobil GmbH
Unfallforschung
Handwerkstraße 15
70565 Stuttgart
Telefon +49.711.7861-2450
Telefax +49.711.7861-2784
unfallforschung@dekra.com